After Seeing How Gummy Candies Are Really Made, You’ll Never Eat Them Again (Disturbing & Graphic)

As kids we have all had that desire to inhale or eat the entire candy store.

Now, as adults, we all know the dangers of such treats, both for our waistlines and our longevity. But, even though we are aware of the dangers, if a gummy candy appears, some of us simply cannot resist. If you have a problem like this, the video below might solve your problem.

It may be difficult for you to watch the video, because you will find out how they are actually made.

Gummy candies and all types of jello products are made with gelatin. That is a gelling agent created by way of animal skin and bones.

Thankfully, a Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens made a video that documents the making of gummies. This horrifying short film shows the way in which gummy candies are made.

But, on the other hand, there are also some candies that are made with vegan gelatin substitutes, for example, agar. This is the most popular gelatin substitute. It is obtained from algae.

While watching the video, you will probably make a grimace at the very real and graphic realization. Those delicious candies are just a mixture of chopped animal remains, boiled chemicals and tons of sugar.

Kneepkens says: “I got the assignment to direct some reversed audiovisual stories showing the production of some of our food. I saw quite a few slaughter houses and examples of both industrial and artisan food production. A true eye opener. Jelly’ is candy. But only a few people know they’re made of gelatin from the skin of pigs. Sweet?”

Share this post: